Alabama freshman Collin Sexton was named co-freshman of the year by the conference coaches, the league office announced on Tuesday. Sexton was also Alabama’s only representative on the first or second All-SEC teams, each of which included eight players.

Sexton shared the freshman of the year award with Kentucky guard Kevin Knox. Sexton led Alabama with 18.3 points and 3.6 assists per game this season. He was second in the league in scoring. He shot 43.1 percent from the field, 30.6 percent from 3-point range and 77 percent at the free throw line. He also averaged 3.6 rebounds per game.

Sexton was named a first-team All-SEC pick by the media. He was also named the league’s “Newcomer of the Year.”

Junior forward Donta Hall was named to the conference’s five-man All-Defensive team. Hall was second on the team with 10.9 points per game and led the Crimson Tide with 6.9 rebounds per game. He averaged 2.3 blocks per game, good for third in the conference.

Tennessee’s Rick Barnes was named coach of the year. The Vols’ Grant Williams was named the league player of the year.

First Team All-SEC
Jaylen Barford, Arkansas
Chris Chiozza, Florida
Yante Maten, Georgia
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Kassius Robertson, Missouri
Chris Silva, South Carolina
Grant Williams, Tennessee
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Collin Sexton, Alabama
Daryl Macon, Arkansas
Bryce Brown, Auburn
Jared Harper, Auburn
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky
Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss. State
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt

Collin Sexton, Alabama
Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Tremont Waters, LSU
Nick Weatherspoon, Miss. State
Jontay Porter, Missouri
TJ Starks, Texas A&M

Donta Hall, Alabama
Anfernee McLemore, Auburn
Chris Chiozza, Florida
Chris Silva, South Carolina
Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee
Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Juwan Parker, Georgia
Co-Freshman of the Year: Collin Sexton, Alabama & Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jontay Porter, Missouri & Lamonté Turner, Tennessee
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Silva, South Carolina & Robert Williams, Texas A&M