University of Alabama sophomore guard Kira Lewis Jr. was named All-Southeastern Conference First Team while junior guard John Petty Jr. earned All-SEC Second Team honors, as the league office announced the 2020 postseason awards on Tuesday. In addition to the all-conference accolades, the head coaches from around the league also voted UA guard Jaden Shackelford was selected to the league’s all-freshman team, while junior guard/forward Herbert Jones was tabbed as an all-defensive team performer.

  Lewis was also a first-team selection on the Associated Press five-man All-SEC team

This is the first time since 2006 and second time in program history that Alabama has had four different players earn All-SEC honors in the same year. That season, Ronald Steele (first team), Jermareo Davidson (first team), Alonzo Gee (all-freshman) and Richard Hendrix (all-freshman) were recognized.

Lewis, who earned SEC All-Freshman honors a year ago, leads the Crimson Tide in scoring (18.5 ppg), assists (5.2 apg), steals (1.8 spg) minutes (37.6 mpg) and field goals made (206) and attempted (449). The only UA player to have started all 31 contests this season, Lewis enters SEC Tournament action leading the league in minutes, ranking third in assists and steals, and fourth in scoring average.


Meanwhile, Petty is considered the top three-point shooter in the SEC. Averaging 14.5 ppg, the Huntsville, Ala., native leads the league in three-point shooting percentage (.440) and ranks second in threes made per game (2.9), totals that are ranked ninth and 28th in the nation, respectively. He also leads Alabama and ranks 11th in the league with 6.6 rebounds per contest.


In his first season at the Capstone, Shackelford has made an immediate impact as his 466 points scored this season ranks fourth on UA’s all-time freshman scoring leaders list. In SEC play alone, he led the league with 55 threes made and ranked 10th with 16.5 points per game. For the year, the Hesperia, Calif., native currently ranks third in the league in three-point percentage (.357) and threes made per game (2.7), while checking in at No. 11 in scoring average (15.0 ppg). Shackelford becomes the fourth straight Crimson Tide player to earn a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team, joining Lewis (2019), Collin Sexton (2018) and Braxton Key (2017).


Despite missing what amounted to nearly five full games due to a variety of injuries this season, Jones’ impact on the defensive end of the floor was felt throughout the year in games he played in and especially games in which he could not suit up. The team leader in Blue Collar Points with 593 – which is used by the coaching staff to measure effort and hustle – the Greensboro, Ala., native still leads Alabama in charges taken (22), deflections (84) and floor dives (31). Over the past seven games, Jones has started each game despite not being able to use his left arm – and dominant hand – due to a surgically-repaired left wrist.


The No. 9-seeded Crimson Tide will take on No. 8 seed Tennessee in Thursday’s SEC Tournament contest. The game will tip off at noon CT and will be televised on SEC Network.

A complete list of the 2020 SEC Men’s Basketball postseason awards follows:


First Team All-SEC

Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama

Mason Jones, Arkansas

Samir Doughty, Auburn

Keyontae Johnson, Florida

Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky

Nick Richards, Kentucky

Skylar Mays, LSU

Breein Tyree, Ole Miss

Reggie Perry, Mississippi State


Second Team All-SEC

John Petty Jr., Alabama

Isaac Okoro, Auburn

Kerry Blackshear Jr., Florida

Anthony Edwards, Georgia

Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky

Maik Kotsar, South Carolina

John Fulkerson, Tennessee

Saben Lee, Vanderbilt


All-Freshman Team

Jaden Shackelford, Alabama

Isaac Okoro, Auburn

Scottie Lewis, Florida

Anthony Edwards, Georgia

Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky

Trendon Watford, LSU

Jermaine Couisnard, South Carolina

Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt


All-Defensive Team

Herbert Jones, Alabama

Isaac Okoro, Auburn

Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

Nick Richards, Kentucky

Yves Pons, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: John Calipari, Kentucky

Player of the Year: Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Anthony Edwards, Georgia

Sixth-Man of the Year: Tyson Carter, Mississippi State

Defensive Player of the Year: Yves Pons, Tennessee


Associated Press All-SEC Team


Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama, 6-3, 165, So., Meridianville, Alabama

Mason Jones, Arkansas, 6-5, 200, Jr., DeSoto, Texas

Reggie Perry, Mississippi State, 6-10, 250, So., Thomasville, Georgia

Nick Richards, Kentucky, 6-11, 247, Jr., Jamaica

Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky, 6-3, 188, So., Harve de Grace, Maryland


Samir Doughty, Auburn, 6-4, 195, Sr., Philadelphia

Anthony Edwards, Georgia, 6-5, 225, Fr., Atlanta

Keyontae Johnson, Florida, 6-5, 231, So., Norfolk, Virginia

Skylar Mays, LSU, 6-4, 205, Sr., Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Breein Tyree, Mississippi, 6-2, 195, Sr., Somerset, New Jersey


Ceoach of the year — Buzz Williams, Texas A&M

Player of the year — Mason Jones, Arkansas, and Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

Newcomer of the year — Anthony Edwards, Georgia