Quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and defensive lineman Quinnen Williams were both named as semifinalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. They were among 15 players on the list.

Tagovailoa has completed 146 of 215 passes for 2,525 yards with 28 touchdowns and two interceptions this season. He’s also rushed for three touchdowns. Williams is third on the team with 49 tackles and leads the SEC with 14 tackles for loss. He also has five sacks.

Running back Derrick Henry became Alabama’s first winner of the award in 2015.

Williams was also among five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, it was announced on Wednesday. The Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America.

Alabama has had a finalist for the Nagurski award for eight straight seasons dating back to 2011. Defensive lineman Jonathan Allen won the award in 2015.

Honorary captain

Former Alabama wide receiver Antonio Carter will be the honorary captain for Saturday’s game against The Citadel. Carter will be available for autographs at the Paul W. Bryant Museum from 3:00-4:00 p.m. on Saturday.

Carter played from 1999-2001 before an injury in 2002 ended his career. He caught 106 career passes for 1,294 yards.