“The Road to Saban” series continues with an examination of the two seasons Dennis Franchione coached at Alabama. Cecil Hurt discusses the 2001 and 2002 seasons and aftermath of the Albert Means scandal with Ben Jones and Taylor Watson, curator of the Bryant Museum. The NCAA would hit Alabama with heavy sanctions after Franchione arrived, and he left for Texas A&M after publicly denying interest in the job in 2002.

“Road to Saban”

Episode 1: End of the Bryant Era
Episode 2: The Ray Perkins Era
Episode 3: Bill Curry’s 3 Alabama seasons
Episode 4: Gene Stallings returns Alabama to the top
Episode 5: Mike DuBose makes mistakes
Episode 6: Dennis Franchione arrives; the NCAA hits hard (above)

You can subscribe to The Bama Beat on iTunes here. It’s also available on TuneIn here. We appreciate listeners who subscribe, leave ratings, write reviews and share The Bama Beat with friends.

Listen to other episodes of The Bama Beat below. Check out all our podcasts at TideSports.com/podcasts.