Alabama football’s Najee Harris has been named to the 2019 Doak Walker Award watch list announced today by the SMU Athletic Forum.

Harris is among 71 running backs from around the country named to the preseason list. Heisman Trophy winner and record-setting running back Derrick Henry was the most recently winner for the Crimson Tide in 2015 while Trent Richardson was the first Alabama student-athlete to take home the award in 2011.

Harris enters the new year averaging 6.5 yards per carry across his first two seasons, including a team-high 6.7 yards per carry average in 2018. He has already eclipsed the 1,000-yard mark in limited time, entering 2019 with 1,153 yards on 178 carries and has contributed seven touchdowns in his 29 career games.