MONTGOMERY – Alabama signees swept the Class 7A awards at the Alabama Sports Writers Association Mr. Football Banquet on Tuesday afternoon.

Thompson quarterback Taulia Tagovailoa, the younger brother of Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, was named the Class 7A Back of the Year and Hewitt-Trussville offensive lineman Pierce Quick was named the Class 7A Lineman of the Year. Both players are repeat winners and early enrollees.

“It was a huge honor,” Quick said. “It is an honor just to be in here with all these guys. There were a ton of incredible athletes that are going to do in incredible things in college and it’s awesome to be in the same room with all those guys.”

Tagovailoa was unable to attend the event. He is in Hawaii preparing for Saturday’s Polynesian Bowl at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu. Tagovailoa helped lead Thompson to a state runner-up finish. He threw for 3,684 yards and 35 touchdowns.

Pickens County junior Jah-Marien Latham, an Alabama commitment at defensive tackle, was named Class 1A Lineman of the Year and closed his acceptance speech with a “Roll Tide.”

Latham helped lead the Tornadoes (9-5) to the semifinals. He had 75 tackles, 4.5 sacks, 16 tackles for loss and two fumble recoveries.

“It feels good. I have been working all year just to make it there and once I knew I was nominated, it felt like all the hard work I am putting in is really paying off now,” he said.

Pinson Valley quarterback Box Nix, an Auburn signee, was named the state’s Mr. Football, presented by Cadence Bank. Tagovailoa finished second in the voting and Quick was seventh. Nix threw for 3,496 yards and 48 touchdowns and ran for six scores to lead the Indians (13-1) to their second consecutive state championship. He is also an early enrollee.

The luncheon, sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association, was held at the Renaissance Montgomery & Spa at the Convention Center.

Reach Joey Chandler at or at 205-722-0223.