It’s still nearly two months until the kickoff for the University of Alabama and Florida State that starts the season, but the unofficial start to college football season begins Monday with the start of the annual SEC Media Days

Alabama takes the stage Wednesday, on day three of the four-day event. Representing the Crimson Tide behind coach Nick Saban will be senior center Bradley Bozeman, junior wide receiver Calvin Ridley and junior defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick.

A total of six quarterbacks represent their teams, a sign that the league’s perceived lack of quarterback play will not be as much of a storyline in 2017. Arkansas quarterback Austin Allen, Kentucky’s Stephen Johnson, Shea Patterson (Ole Miss), Drew Lock (Missouri), Jake Bentley (South Carolina) and Vanderbilt’s Ralph Webb Jr. will all participate during the week.

Despite that, Jalen Hurts’ absence from the event is not all that surprising given Saban’s history of handling his players’ media appearances.

A full list of attendees follows below.

Reach Aaron Suttles at or at 205-722-0229.

2017 SEC Media Day Participants


Bradley Bozeman, Sr., OL Minkah Fitzpatrick, Jr., DB Calvin Ridley, Jr., WR 


Austin Allen, Sr., QB; Frank Ragnow, Sr., OL; Kevin Richardson II, Sr., DB


Daniel Carlson, Sr., K; Tray Matthews, Sr., DB; Braden Smith, Sr., OL


Duke Dawson, Sr., DB; Marcell Harris, Sr., DB; Martez Ivey, Jr., OL


Nick Chubb, Sr., RB; Sony Michel, Sr., RB; Roquan Smith, Jr., LB


Mike Edwards, Jr., S; Stephen Johnson, Sr., QB; Courtney Love, Sr., LB


D.J. Chark, Sr., WR; Derrius Guice, Jr., RB; Christian LaCouture, Sr., DE

Ole Miss 

Javon Patterson, Jr., OL; Shea Patterson, So., QB; Breeland Speaks, Jr., DT

Mississippi State 

Donald Gray, Sr., WR; Dez Harris, Sr., LB; Martinas Rankin, Sr., OL


Eric Beisel, Sr., LB; Drew Lock, Jr., QB; J’Mon Moore, Sr., WR

South Carolina 

Jake Bentley, So., QB; Hayden Hurst, Jr., TE; Deebo Samuel, Jr., WR


Emmanuel Moseley, Sr., DB; Jashon Robertson, Sr., OL; Kendal Vickers, Sr., DL

Texas A&M 

Christian Kirk, Jr., WR; Koda Martin, Jr., OL; Armani Watts, Sr., DB


Oren Burks, Sr., LB; Kyle Shurmur, Jr., QB; Ralph Webb, Sr., RB