Alabama was the only school with two players listed as semifinalists for the 2017 Lombardi Award, given annually to the nation’s best Division I player regardless of position. The Lombardi Award is presented by the Lombardi Foundation of Houston, Texas. The winner will be announced on Saturday, Jan. 27, in Houston at Lone Star College.

Junior defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick and junior defensive tackle Da’Ron Payne were both on the list of 21 candidates.

Fitzpatrick was voted as Alabama’s MVP and team captain by his teammates. He was an All-American, won the Thorpe Award as the nation’s best defensive back and Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s best defensive player. He chose to go pro following his junior season, in which he finished with 60 tackles, fourth-most on the team, including eight tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. He had one interception this season and eight pass breakups.

Payne was named defensive MVP of the national championship game and of the Crimson Tide’s Sugar Bowl win against Clemson. He finished his senior season with 53 total tackles, one sack, one interception and eight quarterback hurries. Payne also chose to go pro after the season.

Here’s the full list of 21 semifinalists, listed alphabetically:

Saquon Barkley, Penn State
J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
Bradley Chubb, N.C. State
Tyrell Crosby, Oregon
DeShon Elliott, Texas
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Shaquem Griffin, Central Florida
Lamar Jackson, Louisville
Derwin James, Florida State
Joel Lanning, Iowa State
Bryce Love, Stanford
Hercules Mata’afa, Washington State
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame
Ed Oliver, Houston
Da’Ron Payne, Alabama
Rashaan Penny, San Diego State
Roquan Smith, Georgia
Vita Vea, Washington
James Washington, Oklahoma State
Christian Wilkins, Clemson