Alabama led the way with three players on the preseason watch list for the 2018 Maxwell Award. Quarterbacks Jalen Hurts, Tua Tagovailoa and running back Damien Harris were all named to the list. The Maxwell Award is given annually to the nation’s best all-around college football player by the Maxwell Football Club.

Clemson was the only other school with three preseason candidates on the list of 85 players. Alabama was the only program with two quarterbacks named on the list.

Hurts returns for his junior year with a 26-2 record as a starter. He passed for 2,081 yards with 17 touchdowns against one interception as a sophomore. He also ran for 855 yards with eight touchdowns. He’s expected to compete with Tagovailoa for the starting quarterback job in fall camp.

Tagovailoa enters his sophomore year after leading Alabama to a comeback victory in the national championship game. He finished his freshman season with 636 passing yards, 11 touchdowns and two interceptions. He also ran for two touchdowns.

Harris chose to return to Alabama for his senior season after posting back-to-back 1,000-yard seasons in 2016 and 2017. He has 2,194 career rushing yards with 14 rushing touchdowns and two receiving touchdowns.

AJ McCarron won the Maxwell Award in 2013 and Derrick Henry won it in 2015. You can view the full list here.

Alabama had three players named to the preseason watch list for the Bednarik Award on Monday also.