FAYETTEVILLE, Ark.  – Portious Warren, ranked No. 1 in the nation and No. 8 in the world, won her second Southeastern Conference shot put title Friday, leading a 1-2 sweep of the event for the Crimson Tide to close day two of the SEC Outdoor Championships being held in Fayetteville, Ark., this week.

Warren used a throw of 56-11.5 to win gold, while fellow senior Haley Teel took the silver medal with a career-best toss of 56-7.25. Warren’s title follows her SEC indoor crown from February when Teel was third in the event.

“We had some great performances in the throws and jumps today,” UA head coach Dan Waters said. “It was great to see Portious and Haley get to the podium and score some important points for us. In the SEC, it’s big deal to go 1-2 in any event, so we’re pretty proud that they were able to do that.”

It was the Crimson Tide women’s third SEC outdoor title in the shot put, following back-to-back titles by Beth Mallory and Aymara Albury in 2005 and 2006, respectively.

In all, the Tide earned four medals on the day with junior Shelby McEwen taking second in the men’s high jump with a leap of 7-3, while senior Kiara Williams earned silver with a career-best 21-5.25 in the women’s long jump.

McEwen, the defending NCAA indoor high jump champion, has now garnered four SEC Championship medals in the high jump. It was Williams second SEC medal, after taking bronze in the long jump at the 2019 SEC Indoor Championships.

Senior Kord Ferguson scored in the men’s shot put, earning a fourth-place finish with a throw of 61-7.5 (18.78m), while sophomore Nickolette Dunbar earned points in the women’s shot put with a seventh-place toss of 53-1.75 (16.20m).

In preliminaries action, senior Nicole Gardner and junior Esther Gitahi advanced to Saturday’s final of the women’s 1,500 meters. Senior Skyler Bowden and Natassha McDonald earned spots in the men’s and women’s 400-meter finals.

Senior Keitavious Walter ran a season-best 10.35 in the 100 meters to earn a place in men’s final, while junior Mauricia Prieto and sophomore Daija Lampkin both advanced to the women’s 100-meter final. Junior Robert Dunning advanced to the final of the men’s 110-meter hurdles.