College Football Awards: Alabama's DeVonta Smith wins Maxwell, Biletnikoff and Walter Camp honors

Brett Hudson
Tide Sports

Alabama football wide receiver DeVonta Smith was the big winner of a successful night for the Crimson Tide during ESPN's College Football Awards show Thursday. He added the Biletnikoff Award, the Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Maxwell Award to his Heisman Trophy secured earlier this week.

His quarterback, Mac Jones, also added to his trophy case. Jones was already named the winner of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, and he added the Davey O'Brien Award on Thursday. Running back Najee Harris, tackle Alex Leatherwood and center Landon Dickerson also won top awards at their positions.

Kicker Will Reichard and cornerback Patrick Surtain II missed on the three combined awards they were nominated for: Surtain was consoled by earning a spot on the Walter Camp All-American Team, joined there by Jones, Harris, Smith, Leatherwood and Dickerson.

Mac Jones wins the O'Brien

Jones has claimed both of college football's major quarterbacking awards, adding the Davey O'Brien Award to his Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Jones won the O'Brien over Clemson's Trevor Lawrence and Florida's Kyle Trask.

Jones has already set the Alabama single-season passing yards record with 4,036, adding 36 touchdowns to just four interceptions. He's completed 77% of his passes.

He's the first UA quarterback to win the award.

Alex Leatherwood claims Outland

Tackle Leatherwood won the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's best lineman. He won it over fellow finalists Liam Eichenberg (Notre Dame) and Daviyon Nixon (Iowa).

Leatherwood is the second UA player to win it in the last three years, after Quinnen Williams won it in 2018. He's the first UA offensive lineman to win it since Cam Robinson in 2016.

Leatherwood was part of a UA offensive line that won the Joe Moore Award, given to the nation's best offensive line as a unit, as opposed to individuals.

Reichard misses on the Groza

Miami's Jose Borregales took the Lou Groza award, keeping Alabama's Reichard from becoming UA's first winner of the trophy given to the nation's best place kicker.

Reichard has not missed a kick this season, making all 13 field goals and all 77 extra points. Four of his 13 field goals have come from 40 yards or more, one from more than 50 yards.

Smith wins Biletnikoff, Walter Camp POY

Smith added to his Heisman Trophy with the Biletnikoff Award, given to the nation's best pass catcher, and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The other two finalists for the Biletnikoff also hailed from the SEC: Ole Miss' Elijah Moore and Florida's Kyle Pitts.

Smith also won the Maxwell Award, which more times than not goes to the Heisman Trophy winner. It is given to the nation's best all-around college football player by the Maxwell Football Club.

This season, Smith broke the school and SEC record for career receiving touchdowns and the school record for career receiving yards. He is close to claiming the SEC record for career receiving yards as well as the school and SEC records for career receiving yards.

Smith enters Monday's national championship game with 105 catches for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Smith is the second UA player to win the Biletnikoff Award in the last three years (Jerry Jeudy, 2018) and third in the last seven years (Amari Cooper, 2014).

Alabama claimed three of the last seven Maxwell winners before Smith won it: Tua Tagovailoa in 2018, Derrick Henry in 2015 and AJ McCarron in 2013.

Dickerson wins Rimington

Dickerson won the Rimington Trophy as the best center in the nation, doing so over fellow finalists Tyler Linderbaum of Iowa and Josh Myers of Ohio State. Dickerson was also part of the UA offensive line that won the Joe Moore Award.

Dickerson is the third UA player to win the award in the Nick Saban era, joining Ryan Kelly (2015) and Barrett Jones (2012).

Harris voted best RB in the country

Alabama running back Harris won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's best running back, doing so over fellow finalists Travis Etienne (Clemson) and Breece Hall (Iowa State). Harris finished ahead of both in Heisman Trophy voting, as well.

Harris is the national leader with 24 rushing touchdowns and third with 1,387 rushing yards. He owns the UA records for career rushing yards and career rushing touchdowns, plus the single-season record for receiving touchdowns by a running back from his 2019 season.

Harris is the third Saban-era UA running back to win the award, after Derrick Henry in 2015 and Trent Richardson in 2011. Mark Ingram did not win it in his Heisman Trophy season in 2009; Stanford's Toby Gerhart did.

Surtain misses Bednarik and Thorpe

Alabama cornerback Surtain was a finalist for the Bednarik Award and the Thorpe Award, but missed out on both. Tulsa linebacker Zavon Collins won the Bednarik, given to the nation's best defensive player, and TCU's Trevon Moehrig won the Thorpe, given to the nation's best defensive back.

Surtain's 11 pass breakups are tied for the SEC lead, in addition to one interception. He is also productive as a rusher and against the run, coming up with two quarterback hurries and 2.5 tackles for loss.

Reach Brett Hudson at 205-722-0196 or or via Twitter, @Brett_Hudson