Alabama football players named finalists for college football awards

Mikey DiLullo
The Tuscaloosa News

Three Alabama football players were announced as finalists for four different college football awards, ESPN announced on Tuesday.

Quarterback Bryce Young is a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the top quarterback in the nation, along with Pitt's Kenny Pickett and Ohio State's CJ Stroud. Young is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, given to the College Player of the Year, alongside Pickett and Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III.

Nov 20, 2021; Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA;  Alabama quarterback Bryce Young (9) throws against Arkansas at Bryant-Denny Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Gary Cosby Jr.-USA TODAY Sports

Edge rusher Will Anderson Jr. is a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's best defensive player. Georgia defensive tackle Jordan Davis, Notre Dame safety Kyle Hamilton and Oregon edge rusher Kayvon Thibodeaux are also finalists.

Iron Bowl:What Walmart taught Alabama football's Bryce Young, Will Anderson Jr. about the Iron Bowl

Wide receiver Jameson Williams is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, given to the top pass-catcher in the nation. Other finalists include Pitt receiver Jordan Addison and Purdue receiver David Bell.

More:Alabama football mailbag: What went wrong in the secondary?

Alabama is one of four SEC schools represented. Georgia has three finalists, with Nakobe Dean being nominated for the Wuerffel Trophy for community service and Stetson Bennett nominated for the Burlsworth Trophy for the nation's top current or former walk-on, with Davis up for the Bednarik. Texas A&M and Missouri have one finalist apiece, with the Aggies' Jalen Wydermyer a finalist for the John Mackey Award, given to the nation's top tight end, and the Tigers' Tyler Badie a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's best running back.

The awards will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 9 at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN.