LSU Sweep: Tigers win 6 major awards with Burrow taking 4, and Chase and Delpit 1 each

Glenn Guilbeau
Lafayette Daily Advertiser
LSU quarterback Joe Burrow poses with the Davey O'Brien Award for being the nation's best quarterback.

BATON ROUGE — The greatest single week in LSU football history soared onward Thursday, as the Tigers took an unprecedented six major awards in the space of a few hours in Atlanta at the College Football Hall of Fame.

Senior quarterback Joe Burrow won four — the Maxwell Award for the collegiate player of the year, the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Associated Press Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback.

More:Burrow has been having 'Heisman moments' for months, and they keep coming

Burrow, who is No. 2 in the nation in passing yards with a Southeastern Conference record 4,715 and No. 1 in touchdown passes with 48, was just in Baltimore on Wednesday night to accept the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award that he was named recipient of last week.

He will be in New York City on Saturday night for the Heisman Trophy, which has gone to the nation's top collegiate player since 1935. He is expected to win by one of the largest margin of votes in history and will be LSU's second winner of all-time, following tailback Billy Cannon in 1959.

More:Watch Joe Burrow's 10 best plays from Heisman-finalist season for LSU football

LSU's Ja'Marr Chase poses with the Biletnikoff Award after being named the nation's top receiver.

Also taking home major awards Thursday in Atlanta were sophomore Ja'Marr Chase, who won the Fred Biletnikoff Award that goes to the nation's best wide receiver, and junior Grant Delpit, who won the Jim Thorpe Award that goes to the nation's best defensive back. Chase is No. 1 in the nation in receiving yards with 1,498, receiving yards a game with 124.8 and in touchdown receptions with a school record 18.

LSU's Grant Delpit poses with the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award for being the nation's best defensive back.

LSU has never won so many major awards in one season.

LSU coach Ed Orgeron was also in attendance to pick up the Home Depot national coach of the year award, which was announced on Wednesday.

"I think they all deserved it," Burrow said on ESPN after picking up the Maxwell Award to end the night. "Not only great players but great people and hard-working young men. And Coach O works harder than anybody I've ever seen. It's just a huge honor for the state of Louisiana."

The Tigers (13-0) play No. 4 Oklahoma (12-1) on Dec. 28 in Atlanta in a national semifinal at 3 p.m. on ESPN. If LSU wins, it will advance to the national championship game on Jan. 13 in New Orleans against the winner of the other semifinal on Dec. 28 between No. 2 Ohio State (13-0) and No. 3 Clemson (13-0)

The week started with LSU moving up from No. 2 to No. 1 in the College Football Playoff poll on Sunday — one night after beating No. 4 Georgia, 37-10, to win its first Southeastern Conference title since 2011 and reach the College Football Playoff for the first time. The current playoff format began in 2014.

On Monday, Burrow was named a Heisman finalist.

On Wednesday, Orgeron was named national coach of the year by Home Depot.

On Thursday, LSU won six major awards.

On Saturday, Burrow is expected to win the Heisman.  

Column:LSU has played 'Eye of the Tiger' for years, but now life is imitating song

Earlier Thursday, LSU placed two on the SEC All-Freshman team — cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. and kicker Cade York.