Upsets mark voting for best all-time college football player: Herschel Walker, Bo Jackson, Barry Sanders highlight this week's candidates

Kevin Allen

Voters eliminated O.J. Simpson in their first chance to judge him in USA TODAY Sports’ quest to determine best college football player of all-time.

Upsets are happening every week.

Simpson was the top seed in his bracket, but popular running back Earl Campbell pulled off an upset by registering 39% of the vote. Simpson had 30%.

In another bracket, Hesiman Trophy winner Tony Dorsett (52%) survived a scare from dynamic running back Gale Sayers (36%).

This week’s matchups in the Herschel Walker Region could also have upset potential, particularly with No. 4-seeded Marcus Allen going up against both John Elway and Deion Sanders.

Marcus Allen was named MVP of Super Bowl XVIII while with the Raiders.

This week's Herschel Walker region matchups:

►No. 1 Herschel Walker (Georgia) vs. No. 16 Kenny Easley (UCLA) vs. No. 8 Reggie White (Tennessee) vs. No.  9 Tim Brown (Notre Dame)

►No. 2 Bo Jackson (Auburn) vs. No. 15 Randy Gradishar (Ohio State) vs. No. 7 Jerry Rice (Miss. Valley State) vs. No. 10 Randy White (Maryland)

►No. 3 Barry Sanders (Oklahoma State) vs. No. 14 Mike Singletary (Baylor) vs. No. 6 Dave Rimington (Nebraska) vs. No. 11 Keith Jackson (Oklahoma)

►No. 4 Marcus Allen (Southern Cal) vs. No. 13 John Elway (Stanford) vs. No. 5 Deion Sanders (Florida State) vs. No. 12 Lee Roy Selmon (Oklahoma)

Last weeks results:

►With 52% of the vote, Tony Dorsett defeated Gale Sayers (36%), Tommy Nobis (6%) and Lee Roy Jordan (6%)

►With 50% of the vote, Archie Griffin defeated Joe Green (28%), Bubba Smith (12%) and Ray Guy (10%)

►With 39% of the vote, Earl Campbell defeated O.J. Simpson (30%), Lawrence Taylor (22%) and Fred Biletnikoff (10%)

►With 56% of the vote, Walter Payton defeated Ronnie Lott (22%), Alan Page (11%) and John Hannah (10%)