Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa is a finalist for the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award, the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced Thursday. The honor is given annually to the most outstanding college football player of Polynesian ancestry that epitomizes great ability and integrity.

Joining Tagovailoa are Iowa defensive end A.J. Epenesa, Notre Dame defensive back Alohi Gilman, Oklahoma offensive lineman Dru Samia and Hawaii wide receiver John Ursua.

“The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award allows us to showcase the tremendous impact of our Polynesian student-athletes,” chairman and co-founder Jesse Sapolu said in the release. “We congratulate the finalists on an incredible season and look forward to celebrating their success”

The five finalists were selected from a watch list of more than 50 candidates. A winner will be announced on Dec. 13. There will be a formal presentation later on Jan. 18 at the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner, and the winner will also be recognized during the Polynesian Bowl on Jan. 19.

Former Washington State defensive end Hercules Mata’afa, who now plays in the NFL, received the honor last year.

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Terrin Waack 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.